Winners 2017-2018

In 2018, the IUT Board of Directors served as the Taiguusiliuqtiit Awards Committee.  They chose to honour three Nunavummiut for their contributions to the Inuit Language: 

  • Rhoda Karetak of Arviat, who have always encouraged young people to continue to use Inuktut, regardless of dialects. She has demonstrated leadership in language use, traditional and cultural vitality;

  • Sarah Takolik of Taloyuak, who has been involved in Education for 35 years. She is an excellent teacher with great passion for teaching Inuktut and has been a tireless advocate for the preservation of Inuktut;

  • Sean Kappik of Iqaluit, who as a young man uses creativity and innovation in advancing Inuktut. He ensures the use of Inuktut in the workplace, he has helped to cultivate a safe and comfortable living environment for the youth. He conducts cultural activities such as hunting, land trips and food preparation in Inuktitut. He extends his education to all staff and residents of the youth facility.